16 Joni Mitchell vs. 113 The Strokes

Joni Mitchell is one of the most influential singer-songwriters in history, as well as one of the most important female musicians ever. Her deeply personal songs have touched generations.

The Strokes were one of the leaders of the garage rock revival in the early 2000s (aughts?). They are one of few bands that have withstood and lived up to massive hype before most people had heard any of their music (blame England).

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Scott Parsons on March 19, 2011 - 5:21 pm

    I need to vote! Where’s the judgment button! I must put Joni Mitchell in her place!

    • #2 by tournamental on March 19, 2011 - 5:50 pm

      I think it’s working now. I have no idea why it wasn’t there before, because I embedded it just like the others.

  2. #3 by Scott Parsons on March 20, 2011 - 4:05 am

    Ahhhh. There. I feel better.

    Take that Joni Mitchell!

  3. #4 by Phil Farmer on March 23, 2011 - 11:44 am

    Just as a songwriter alone, Joni should be dominating this match-up.

    History.

  4. #5 by Matte W. on March 26, 2011 - 1:00 pm

    Honestly, this boggles my mind. I don’t like Joni Mitchell on a personal-preference level, either, but… the STROKES? It would be one thing if this were Joni Mitchell vs. the Actual Stooges, but I don’t know what some of you guys are thinking here. A better matchup might be, like… Ani DiFranco vs. the Strokes. Then I might have had to think about which was less relevant in the grand scheme of things.

Leave a Reply

